Panasonic GH2: Best Video DSLR For The Price?

Canon T3i / 600D, 60D, T2i / 550D, 1D Mark IV, 7D, 5D Mark II.
Panasonic DMC-GH2.
Nikon D7000, D5100, D5000, D90.
drv

Panasonic GH2: Best Video DSLR For The Price?

Post by drv »

I'm new to DSLRs. I shot 35mm film years ago with a Yashica fully manual cam. I've had a number of digital point and shoots over the years. For video, I have an old Panasonic DV953 SD cam. I want to do HD video but feel like a good DSLR with video capabilities might let me serve two functions with one cam.

I've been looking at various DSLRs and the Panasonic Lumix GH2 appears to be the best at video at the $1000 price point at least according to the reviews I've read. I know there are some Nikons and Canons DSLRs that do better at video but at a much higher price. Higher than I want to go right now.

So, I'm looking for opinions on the GH2 and suggestions for a better DSLR for video at the $1000 price if there are any.

Thanks.
Stephan
Site Admin

Re: Panasonic GH2: Best Video DSLR For The Price?

Post by Stephan »

Hi Dennis, welcome!

Seen your other post... Chris (who has a GH2) has been away for a few days as it seems, so hopefully he'll be able to answer your request for GH2 opinion shortly.

There's this video from Africa (link), the colors are so amazing that this just looks like the expendable camera you want to get no matter what, even for a one-off trip or gig... until you think about lenses. Do you have lenses already that you would want to reuse, how to do that (adapter ring), any limitations (stabilization? autofocus?) So it's not just the body, and hopefully Chris can discuss that.
drv

Post by drv »

Stephan,

Thanks for the reply.