Sony HVR-M15 with iMovie

HDR-FX1000 / HVR-Z5 (2008). HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270 (2007). HDR-FX7 / HVR-V1 (2006). HDR-FX1 / HVR-Z1 (2004).
grahamat

Sony HVR-M15 with iMovie

Post by grahamat »

Hi all. Newbie here.
I really hope someone can help me with a problem I am having.
I have 1080/50i footage recorded on a Sony HVR-M15E which I need to edit in iMovie 09.
The footage plays back fine through the component outputs so I know that I have HD footage.
I can import into iMovie with no problem and iMovie controls the deck with no issues.
The problem is the footage saved looks like it's composite! That is either the iMovie event .mov or the shared .mov when shared at full res.
I have checked all the menu settings on the HVR-M15E and they are all correct for outputting HD through the iLink connection.
I am importing into iMovie at full image size and the saved footage shows as 1920X1080.
I have also imported into iMovie 11, FCP-X and Quicktime Pro and they all look more or less the same but still show as 1920X1080 except
the Quicktime Pro import shows as 1440X1080.
This being the case I can only assume that a setting on the Sony HVR is wrong.
If anyone is running a similar system could you please, please tell me what settings you are using?
I am going crazy with this.
Thank you all
acgold7
Global Moderator

Re: Sony HVR-M15 with iMovie

Post by acgold7 »

This feels familiar. Have we had this discussion before? Are you shooting with the FX7 but recording onto the M15?

Yes, found it. Last month on the other forum I asked if you would be so kind as to post a screen grab of your settings on your NLE. Without seeing those we cannot hazard a guess as to what the problem is.

If you are absolutely dead certain that you are shooting HDV on your FX7 and that i.Link CONV is OFF on both your cam and the Deck, then the only likely culprit left, if there is indeed a problem and not just a display issue, is your NLE and the settings within. Hence my request.