No Audio with NX30

3D - HDR-TD10 (2011).
Professional models - HXR-NX70 (2011). HXR-MC2000, HXR-MC50 (2010).
Flash Memory / consumer - HDR-CX260V, HDR-CX580V, HDR-CX740VE, HDR-CX760V (2012). HDR-CX360V, HDR-CX560V, HDR-CX700V (2011). HDR-CX110, HDR-CX150, HDR-CX300, HDR-CX350V, HDR-CX550V (2010). HDR-CX100 (2009). HDR-CX12 (2008). HDR-CX7 (2007).
Hard Disk / consumer - HDR-XR260V (2012). HDR-XR150, HDR-XR350V, HDR-XR550V (2010). HDR-XR100, HDR-XR200, HDR-XR500, HDR-XR520 (2009). HDR-SR11, HDR-SR12 (2008). HDR-SR5, HDR-SR7 (2007).
Post Reply
videooman
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Dec 2012 05:53
Location: Santa Ana, CA

No Audio with NX30

Post by videooman » 26 Dec 2012 01:07

Hello All,

I have a brand new NX30 just arrived yesterday. I get good audio in playback but none in my PC. I have the audio set for PCM Linear which is what everyone says to do. But when I put the card in my PC there is very good video but no audio at all. Is there a setting I am missing? Any suggestions??

Thanks,

Danny Jackson
Santa Ana, CA

videooman
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Dec 2012 05:53
Location: Santa Ana, CA

Re: No Audio with NX30

Post by videooman » 26 Dec 2012 18:14

Well, I did finally figure how to get audio out. By switching from PCM Linear to Dolby Digital audio. With the latter, everything works fine.

NOW.... Anyone have any ideas where I might get a rubber eyemount for the viewfinder? This viewfinder is pathetic and one could easily poke out ones eyeball if they are not careful.... LOL

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks Much !!

User avatar
Doughie
Global Moderator
Posts: 452
Joined: 22 May 2010 16:57
Location: Mexico

Re: No Audio with NX30

Post by Doughie » 26 Dec 2012 18:15

Hi Danny

ok well as you have audio in playback, then that would seem to indicate that the camera is performing fine, its recording audio fine, the file should be fine.

try Process of Elimination to narrow it down.
- what software are you using to play back the file on your PC? windows media player? Try VLC (google it, free download) or DivX player or Quicktime player or other. MPC is good too -- its Media Player Classic.

are you getting ANY audio out of your PC? do all othjer video files on the PC play back fine with audio? is it just this file that is mute? Check for muting options on youjr PC in general or the video player that you are using. try different players and try different video files.

NX30 i would imagine writes to an .MTS file. Some PCs struggle with those as they are very compressed, but if its playing back video and just audio is the prob, that would seem to eliminate that possibility.

videooman
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Dec 2012 05:53
Location: Santa Ana, CA

Re: No Audio with NX30

Post by videooman » 27 Dec 2012 01:57

Thanks so much for your reply. I appreciate it.

I did finally get audio out using the Dolby Digital rather than PCM Linear. My main editor is a stand alone system by Casablanca. Been with them for about 15 years.
Also even Windows Media Player would not play back the audio using PCM Linear. But Dolby does. So I'm good to go.

Still trying to figure out how to get some type of rubber cub for the view finder.

Thanks!

Danny

Post Reply