Editing software for Sony DCR-SX44

Edit your videos. Upload them to the web. Burn blu-rays and DVDs. Colors look odd maybe? Fix'em in post, then!
Sam709

Editing software for Sony DCR-SX44

Post by Sam709 »

Hi! I am a newbie to decent video editing software. I shot video with a Kodak Z digital camera and edited it (just trim the ends off) with the Easyshare software it came with. I recently got and am learning Videopad software to try more precise editing. ( I perform stand up. If you like, check them out at youtube - my channel there is SamSchott1 )
I have just upgraded to a Sony SX44 and my first assignment is to shoot a Fandango commercial spot for a regional theater chain. The raw footage is coming out well. My challenge is going to be editing the scenes together and recording the voiceover tracks with SFX then 'attaching' the new soundtrack to the finished video edit.
I do have the software disc that came with the Sony, but have yet to try it. I'd very much appreciate anyone's advice for a total newbie trying to get smooth results fairly quickly with a learning curve that's not too steep. (I expect to spend more time as I do other projects learning the ropes, but I have a deadline to meet first.)
I'd like to know what works easily, well, and is compatible with Windows 7. Something user friendly, and simple to start with, but gives quality results. Am I asking too much? :-)
Thanks very much,
Sam
Stephan
Site Admin

Re: Editing software for Sony DCR-SX44

Post by Stephan »

Mildly off-topic for this website, since that is not a High Definition camcorder... Anyway, try Windows Live Movie Maker, or Ulead / Corel Videostudio. Simple, approachable software that should get you started. No idea whether they really support your camcorder, I didn't even know Sony does Standard Def camcorders that record onto flash memory.
Sam709

Post by Sam709 »