Color correction - Tips & advice

Edit your videos. Upload them to the web. Burn blu-rays and DVDs. Colors look odd maybe? Fix'em in post, then!
Simbo

Color correction - Tips & advice

Post by Simbo »

Hi,

I am new to the world of camcorders and video editing. Having bought my first ever camcorder in November I've managed to put together 2 family videos so far using Sony Vegas 9 Pro.

Now (as I'm sure you are all familiar with) I am striving for better looking video. I have read that color correction is a good tool to use...its something I have no experience in whatsoever.

Is it something that you can use the same settings for every time? Or will the settings vary depending on the video clip you are using?

Also will the default color correction tool in Vegas suffice? Maybe a 3rd party plugin will do a better job?

Any help would be great.
Stephan
Site Admin

Re: Color correction - Tips & advice

Post by Stephan »

A few ideas...

1. I found there's a long way before you really need color correction. First and foremost, you need to identify if / why you feel dissatisfied with your video colors, what it is specifically that you want to improve. It would be pointless to engage into color correction stuff without knowing precisely what goal you want to reach.

2. Then, color correction isn't the only answer. You can often address issues by properly using your camcorder. For example, I found that when shooting outdoors, the outdoor white balance preset is enough to get outstanding colors in most situations. No color correction required in post usually, unless you're dealing with very specific light or contrast situations that require special exposure strategies. When shooting outdoors, I now only use color correction to fix exposure occasionally. Indoors is trickier though.